Home

we had to walk up

two flights

of stairs

to reach

the place

that we called

Home.

it was safe

and we had all

that we needed

and my mom

was

the centerpiece,

the force field

of our existence.

she worked,

she cooked,

she cleaned

and dressed us

for weekdays

and Sundays.

in the later years

when I was in college

i could always bring

a friend home

for a night time

Sunday meal

when they were

tired of eating

dorm food.

and Sunday nights

the day’s meal

would be sitting

covered on

the stove.

and I would serve up a plate

for a friend.

my mom would be sleeping

by then;

she was clearly aging

and tired.

and i thought

not much

about my advantages

and blessings.

but

Ma

is years gone

as are two

of my siblings;

and i think of them often

and hope they

are in

the best place;

the place

that

they

deserve,

‘Home’.

©️Linda Tauhid

7/16/23

https://youtu.be/Ug-10cLg9w8

One thought on “Home

Leave a comment