Is The Nimbus Not Enough? for Mahsa Amini, Iranian Shahida

i struggle

with

the scarf;

but I know its significance

and value.

often i will concoct

a style that looks

modern/urban

or just throw on

a hat.

and i have seen hijab wearing women

regard me

as of I am a khafir*,

but i let them eat that

misnomer

silently.

many communities

police themselves

but “religious police”

are

another matter.

in America 

the tables are turned:

i recently applied for

a job

teaching online

the potential employers

insisted i send a picture

for the “onboarding” process.

shortly i heard back from them

that the position

had been filled.

(of course it could

have just been

my flawless brown skin

as well

that elicited that feedback)

but thats another matter

actually, I wore my simplest

scarfed look for that sitting.

so i usually opt 

for the basic head-coverings

i am not unduly holy,

but i do try to keep the mark

realizing that there is

after all, a reckoning…

one time 

in my Northern California days

i was at some kind of meeting

in the Santa Cruz area

and I walked up to

one of the speakers 

and he looked at me and said:

“Your halo is looking good”.

very matter-of-factly.

Instinctively,

i reached up and touched my head

 and he said, not your head, but your halo.

and i’ve had times where children 

have stared at me in awe

as if angels were dancing around me.

(some little ones can see those things)

so i proceed

with my thesis,

‘Is a nimbus not enough?’

should we have to mourn

an Iranian sister

who lost her earthly life

because she was not wearing hijab?

should her supposed “re-education”

gone wrong

be our source

of sorrow.

will her

martyr-light

in paradise

light the way,

wipe out ignorance

and nonconstructive norms.

dear reader, I ask:

is the nimbus

not enough?

Linda Tauhid

©9/21/22

“Our Lord, perfect for us our light and forgive us. Indeed, You are over all things competent.” 

Holy Quran, Chapter (66) sūrat l-taḥrīm (The Prohibition) Verse 8 (excerpt)

Update: https://youtu.be/RgwkcMCCR4w