Josiah

i met him

the day

he was born.

small & red;

asleep & tired from the ordeal

of birth.

i was almost afraid

to hold him

but i knew

that i must greet him.

when he gained 

a bit of strength

i would get him up

on his legs

and sing dance tunes

to him:

“Do You Love Me”

by the Contours

and such;

and I would simulate 

rhythm and dance moves

while he stood

on

my lap.

soon

he knew my voice

and he would dance

when he heard it.

i found that he liked

percussion

so i gave him two spoons

and let him bang

on my pots.

his mother, 

who is Belizean,

bought him

a keyboard;

i played the masters for him:

Baba Olatunji,

Mongo Santamaria,

Poncho Sanchez,

Max Roach,

Art Blakey,

Idris Muhammad.

he asks for me now:

and comes to visit me

and i make him treats.

and let him walk free here

exploring, watching movies, 

playing on his pad,

climbing into his indoor tent.

and of course

we dance together–

him, self supporting

on two strong toddler legs.

and me

me still busting

a few diminished moves

while

i watch.

he may never become 

a percussionist,

but maybe he

will remember

me

and

the stories

of

his foremothers 

and forefathers

as told

through

the 

dance

and

the

drums.

Linda Tauhid

©9/24/21