Joel

will i never see you

again?

is it enough to just have

known?

will you never hear

my stories;

where i’ve traveled

what I’ve seen?

was what you taught me

back then

to be all…

Nina Simone,

“Four Women”

the beginnings of chess

and long walks.

you a teacher,

me a lover–

immersed in what you

knew,

what i wanted to learn,

the ‘feel’ of you.

when you

decided to try white women

(beginning with my friend)

and never went back…

is that a loss for me,

my ilk? (whoever they are)

have you escaped

to another land

where you will never

coach or remember 

another like me,

or

tell stories of Johnny Mathis,

or Curtis Mayfield

on a bow-legged

Boston walk;

or misconstrue

my attention,

my adoration,

for simple

curiosity

and

care?
Linda Tauhid

©7/6/17

Leave a Reply

