Daoud

they taught me

to speak

the words of David

and thus

i am blessed.

i stood

before

congregations

scrubbed and brushed

and recanted

with brilliance

what a child

barely knew…

‘mercy has followed

me

all the days

of my life;’

in sickness

and in health

in loss

and

in wealth.

for i was taught to

speak the words of praise.

i have risen,

i have fallen

i have lain

in my own tears…

but i return to The Good

never displaced;

“Praise the Lord, my soul;

all my inmost, praise his holy name.”*

for i 

ever reflect

the words

of David.
Linda Tauhid

©4/18/17
*Quotation from Psalm 103, a psalm of David (Al Sabur)

Leave a Reply

