Ramadan Reflections on the 4th of July

i am without color

i have no

rainbow overlay

no red,

black,

and green

flag

to wave;

no red,

white

and blue

sonata

to play;

my soul

is

colorless–

anguished

yet free

my heart

is flooded

with the

tears

of my eyes

my shaking hands

reach for help,

support–

my mind screams

“madad”!*

enable me

with

True Friends

and

the power

of hope

and reflection;

cleanse me

with the

baptismal waters

of faith

and certainty;

i see no colors

within

the human spectrum.

only enlightened

or unenlightened

beings

channeling rainbows

of light

and darkness

with their

thoughts

and actions–

black, gray, white–

colorless

as

a cloudy

day.
Linda Tauhid

7/4/15

©2015
*support

2 thoughts on “Ramadan Reflections on the 4th of July

Leave a Reply

