Reminiscing

i haven’t
thought
of you
in long…
but you
have arisen
in sentiment
and memory.
how could
i have not
loved
you?
amidst
the smoke
and mirrors
of my
dreams.
set within
a city
of hills
and lights
and fog
and Isley Brothers’
songs.
how could i
not
have loved
you?
me, the lonely
girl
in woman’s body
searching worlds
and foreign landscapes
for love.
and you
a predator
of modern times…
so far beyond
those days
I lurk
in divine crevices
and alleyways
sifting through
the refuse
smiling
at the outcome;
the miracles
that have
advanced me
sustained me
expanded me
and
grounded me
in
something
more.

–Linda Tauhid

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing

Leave a Reply

