Ramadan Don’t Leave Me!

Don’t Leave Me Ramadan!

Don’t leave me
Ramadan:
Your brilliant nights
And
Calming days
That burn through
The sloth
Of my sins
And elevate me.
Don’t leave me
Ramadan:
Must I wait another year
For your return?
Must I fight the battles
Of the world
Without the restraint
The compassion
That you
Have been
Embodied with?
Don’t leave me
Ramadan:
Rather remain firm
Within
My memory
And my actions;
Permeate my days
And nights
With the
Sound
Of the nightly
Recitations;
The prostrations
Of hope…
Cover me
With the truth (Al Haqq)
Of your existence-
The mercy of
Our Lord.
Don’t leave me
Ramadan!

Linda Tauhid
Ramadan 30 , 1434 A.H

Leave a Reply

