POEM FOR MY FATHER

you don’t know my father

his face is no longer

on this earth

but I still love him

and see him

in my dreams…

I hear him crooning

“the Autumn leaves

caress the trees

tenderly”

you never saw my father

as we sat and talked

grown-daughter

to-father

talk—

some secrets

some open

in a shared space

with no one else

you never knew my father

they called him David

and he was strong

and when his time

came he died

Like a man

not needing anyone’s help.

you

never

knew

my

father.

and even now

I feel him

in summer breezes

and soft winds

and green trees

and Autumn leaves

that remind me

of Franklin Park…

and after dinner walks

you never knew

my father….

Leave a Reply

